The APAT World Championship Of Amateur Poker Starts August 20

Dusk Till Dawn is set to be awash with budding poker players from far and wide as the Nottingham-based poker club, the home of British poker, is hosting the 2023 APAT World Championship Of Amateur Poker (WCOAP).

The WCOAP, affectionately known as “The Worlds,” is the highlight of the APAT season for recreational poker players everywhere. The 2023 WCOAP runs from August 20 through August 28, and its schedule is designed to put every entrant through their paces.

Costing £180 to enter (£150+£30), the World Amateur Poker Championship serves as the 2023 WCOAP Main Event. There are six Day 1s, including two online flights at GGPoker, with each allowing players to re-enter on the following day should their first bullet not go to plan.

APAT Announces Partnership with GGPoker

Day 1a of the 2023 WCOAP Main Event takes place at Dusk Till Dawn at 3:00 p.m. BST on August 20. Online flights, which only cost £150 to buy into thanks to GGPoker making them free of registration fees, run at 7:30 p.m. BST on August 21 and August 22.

Last year’s WCOAP Main Event attracted 423 entrants, each paying £150 to enter. Those entrants created a £52,875 prize pool, and Dan Owston came out on top, defeating Manuel Simao heads-up to capture a coveted APAT gold medal, a commemorative bracelet, and £10,000 cash.

In total, there are 25 APAT bracelet-awarding events taking place at Dusk Till Dawn between August 10-28. They include a variety of No-Limit Hold’em and Pot-Limit Omaha tournaments, plus other events including H.O.R.S.E., Razz, 8-Game, Crazy Pineapple, Antes Only, Win the Button, and a £340 buy-in NLHE High Roller.

Garry Bennett is the reigning High Roller champion after he defeated Dusk Till Dawn regular Vahid Amirzahiri heads-up. The victory came with £5,290 in prize money.

2023 APAT WCOAP Schedule

Date Time Event Buy-in
Sun 20 Aug 3:00 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship Live Day 1a £180
Mon 21 Aug 7:30 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship Online Day 1b £150
Tue 22 Aug 7:30 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship Online Day 1c £150
Wed 23 Aug 4:00 p.m. WCOAP International Team Championship (Day 1 SNGs) £120pp
  5:00 p.m. WCOAP H.O.R.S.E. Championship £120
  6:00 p.m. WCOAP NLHE Turbo Championship £60
  7:00 p.m. WCOAP PLO Championship £60
  8:00 p.m. WCOAP International Team Championship (Day 1 SNGs) £120pp
Thu 24 Aug 1:00 p.m. WCOAP International Team Championship (Day 2 SNGs)  
  2:00 p.m. WCOAP 6-Max NLHE Championship £120
  5:00 p.m. WCOAP Razz Championship £60
  6:00 p.m. WCOAP International Team Championship (Day 2 MTT)  
  7:00 p.m. WCOAP Crazy Pineapple Championship £60
Fri 25 Aug 2:00 p.m. WCOAP 8-Game Championship Day 1 £120
  3:00 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship (Live Day 1d) £180
  4:00 p.m. WCOAP High Roller Championship £340
  7:00 p.m. WCOAP Bounty Championship £120
Sat 26 Aug 1:00 p.m. WCOAP 8-Game Championship (Final Table)  
  1:00 p.m. WCOAP NLHE/PLO Round of Each Championship £60
  2:00 p.m. World Amatuer Poker Championship (Live Day 1e) £180
  5:00 p.m. WCOAP 8-Max NLHE Championship £60
  7:00 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship (Live Day 1f Turbo) £180
  8:00 p.m. WCOAP Antes Only Championship £60
Sun 27 Aug 12:00 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship (Day 2)  
  12:00 p.m. WCOAP NLHE Shootout Championship £60
  1:00 p.m. WCOAP PLO8 Championship £120
  3:00 p.m. WCOAP Win the Button Championship £120
  6:00 p.m. WCOAP Aviation NLHE Championship (4-Card NLHE) £60
Mon 28 Aug 1:00 p.m. WCOAP NLHE Mix Max Championship £60
  2:00 p.m. World Amateur Poker Championship (Final Table)  
  2:00 p.m. WCOAP 2-7 Triple Draw Championship £60
  4:00 p.m. WCOAP PLO 4/5/6 Championship £120
  5:00 p.m. WCOAP NLHE Tag Championship £60

APAT Goes Fully International During 2023; Full Schedule Released

Scotland Looks to Defend Its Team Title

Although the World Amateur Poker Championship is the individual tournament every APAT member wants to win, the WCOAP International Team Championship is the event designed for bragging rights.

Scotland came out on top in 2022, beating arch-rivals England by 20 points, with Portugal rounding off the podium. This year’s team events see 12 teams, an increase on the nine from 2022, battle it out for their country.

Ben Burnhill once again leads out his band of merry Scots, made up of Nazar Mohammed, Blair Matheson, and Charlie Kearns. Team England look, on paper at least strong, with Wayne Parker leading out Danny Strange, Matt Carter, and Asa McGrath.

However, the United States could be the dark horses of the competition. Jen Mason captains Team United States, which consists of Deborah Worley-Roberts, Ben Mason, and Carey Hollick.

Team Team Captain Player 2 Player 3 Player 4
Scotland Ben Burnhill Nazar Mohammed Blair Matheson Charlie Kearns
England Wayne Parker Danny Strange Matt Carter Asa McGrath
Wales Dan Owston Dylan Herbert Richard Rudling-Smith Ben Young
Ireland Frank Bailie Wilhelmine Connolly Eamonn Connolly John Murray
Northern Ireland Liam Campbell Gus Shiels Conon Malcomson Damien Sparkes
United States Jen Mason Deborah Worley-Roberts Ben Mason Carey Hollick
Poland Seb Mikolajczyk Ian Szerlowski Adam Szerlowski Pawel Baczalski
Netherlands Stefan Fischer Andreas Kappert Bart De Bont Jeroen Dolle
Germany Huseyin Erbay Peter Wagner Tobias Krüger Tilo Deml
Portugal Bruno Abelho Valter Pereira Simão Gomes Bruno Cabrita
Romania Edi Neacsu Alexandru Buzetoiu Marius Hutupasu Iulius Buzetoiu
Macedonia Mike V PopGonoff Aleksandar Kamendoliev Stefan Stojcev Elena Bojkova

Stay tuned to PokerNews throughout the 2023 APAT WCOAP.

Source link


Random Posts